Political Science and International Relations

Political Science and International Relations

The Department of Political Science was established in 2009 as one of the pioneer departments at the take-off of Taraba State University, Jalingo. The department started with the B.Sc. Political Science programme in 2009/2010 Session and the B.Sc. International relations programme is expected to take-off in the 2012/2013 Session in line with the Academic Brief.

In the past three years or so, the Department is growing and changing in terms of staff composition, student population and course content. The Department will continue to provide an avenue for skill acquisition for staff and students, training in basic research and manpower development for Taraba State, the country and the international community as a whole. Its products expected to work in the Ivory Towers of Nigeria and beyond, the corridors of power at every level of government, civil society and the private sector.

2.        Philosophy

The philosophy and mission of Political Science discipline is to produce graduates with a critical mind, requisite ability and skill to analyse, comprehend, predict and influence the factors that shape and mould power relationships in an ever-changing socio-political environment in a globalizing world.

3.       Aims and Objectives

  • To provide training in the principles of Political Science as applicable in various specializations in the field: Political Economy, Public Administration, International Relations, etc.
  • To stimulate the students intellectually through the programme to enable them to appreciate the social problems of the society.
  • To provide a solid foundation of knowledge about the workings of society and its institutions and develop the skills for the constructive use of such knowledge.
  • To develop in students, the ability to apply the Political Science knowledge to the resolution of societal problems and conflicts.
  • To develop in students, such skills and competency that would allow them to be self reliant and entrepreneurial.
  • To provide the students with the skill-base from which they can proceed to higher studies in Political Science.

To imbue in the students a deep appreciation of the political dynamics of society and the impact of this on wider socio-economic development and societal well being.


     4.   Admission Requirements

a)         Admission

There are two levels of admission into the Political Science programme.  These are UTME and Direct Entry.


Candidates for admission into the four year degree programme should possess a Senior Secondary School Certificate or General Certificate of Education  NECO or their equivalents with at least five (5) credit passes obtained in not more than two sittings of which three must be Government or History plus English Language and Mathematics. An acceptable UTME score is also required.

Direct Entry

Candidates for direct entry into the degree programme in Political Science should possess five (5) credit passes in the General Certificate of Education, NECO, Senior Secondary School Certificate or their equivalents, three of which shall include Government or History, English Language and Mathematics.  In addition, candidates must possess credit passes in three relevant subjects at the Advanced Level in IJMB, Diploma or HND, and General Certificate of Education or its equivalent.



              To National graduate, a student who entered at 100 Level must have:

  • Completed and passed a Minimum number of units at each                      level

100 – 36

200 – 38

300 – 45

400 –  39

Total 158 including all compulsory courses specified by the                            University/Department.

  • For DE candidates, the students must earn a minimum of 108 Credit Units to graduate.
  • Completed and met the standards for all required and          optional course
  • Obtain a minimum (GPA of 1.0) and
  • Met other requirement that may be prescribed by the Department, Faculty and Senate from time to time.