The Department of Chemistry is one of the foundation Departments of the Faculty of Science, which came into existence in 2009 after the inception of the University in 2008. Academic staff were recruited in February 2009. The department offers an undergraduate programme leading to the award of the degree: B.Sc (Hons) Chemistry. Academic programme commenced by September, 2009 with 24 students. The programme (B.Sc. Chemistry) is presently at 300 level with a total population of 35 students.


The bachelor (B.Sc.) programme in chemistry is designed to provide students with sound fundamental chemical principles, analytical minds and opportunity of interacting with the industry by understanding of exploitation of nature, synthesis of new materials essential to the enhancement of the quality of life and the overall advancement of science and technology.


(i) To provide a broad and balanced chemical education to students through the teaching of chemistry courses and such allied courses which would enable them to develop analytical minds.

(ii) To train students who will acquire scientific and technical skills in order to utilize existing technology, adopt and develop new ones.

(iii) To provide students with thorough understanding of chemical knowledge, this emphasizes practical skills and a wide range of transferable skills applicable in chemical and non- chemical areas leading to self employment purposes.

(iv)To generate in students appreciation of chemistry in industrial, environmental, socio-economical and technological context.

(v) To promote linkages with similar bodies within and outside the country.


The department offers an undergraduate programme leading to the award of: B.Sc (Hons) Chemistry


The duration for the degree programme is of 4 years for those who entered through UTME and 3 years for those who entered through 2 direct entries.


Candidates who possess any of the following qualifications may be considered for admission:


(a)  WAEC/SSCE/NECO/NABTEB ordinary level with at least five credit passes at not more than two sittings in English language, Mathematics, Physics, Biology and Chemistry.

(b) In addition, candidates must meet the required UTME and post-UTME cut-off marks.


(a) WAEC/SSCE/NECO ordinary level with at least five credit passes at not more than two sittings.

(b) Credit passes in OND, HND, NCE, IJMB or GCE ‘A’ level (Two A level credit passes in chemistry and any one of Physics, mathematics or biology) or its equivalent are admitted through the direct entry of JAMB.


Each lecturer sets his examination questions for the courses he had taught. Exam question papers are produced under strict observance and custody by the course lecturers. The examination questions are moderated by the H.O.D and other senior staff in the department. Examination constitutes 30% C.A. and 70% exam. Examination results are vetted at the Departmental Board of Examiner’s meeting and corrected version submitted to the Faculty Board of Examiners for vetting and approval.  Thereafter, they are forwarded to the Senate for approval.


Student’s must has at least 75% attendance in all classes and tutorials to qualify to sit for the semester examination in any course unit. Undergraduate course is evaluated through continous assessment constituting 30% while 70% will be for the End of Courses Examination.


In order for candidate to graduate with Bachelor of Science Chemistry (Hons), he/she must have passed a minimum of 161 credit units for those commencing at 100 level and 115 credit units for those admitted into 200 level.


The following degree classifications apply to all degrees awarded by the University.

Cumulative Grade Point Average (CGPA)    Class of Degree

4.50 – 5.00      First class

3.50 – 4.49      Second class (Upper division)

2.40 –3.49        Second class (lower division)

1.50 – 2.39           Third Class

1.0 – 1.49        Pass

Course Unit/Load

The maximum and minimum requirements for graduation in the Department of Chemistry are stipulated and range from 142 to 200 credit units


In general the weighting of each course is made up of 30% for continuous assessment and 70% for the two semester examinations.

Graduation Requirement

For the award of degree, a student must have been duly matriculated and have:

(a) Passed all the prescribed courses in the degree programme of study.

(b) Passed all the prescribed general studies courses

(c) Earned the required minimum number of course credit units as determined by the department /Faculty/senate for the award of degree.

(d) Before a student graduates, the student must fulfill the general requirements of credits in English language, Mathematics, Chemistry, Physics and Biology.

(e) Earned a satisfactory grade in SIWES.

(f) Found worthy in character.

Specification of Credit Units by Level

LEVEL                   UNITS

100                        46

200                        44-48

300                        30

400                        41-48

Total units for 100 level 161-172

Total units for DE 115-126

Academic Atmosphere

The Department has adopted the policy of collective decision making through meetings and consultations. Colleagues are advised to discuss openly at meetings. The Head of Department is the last resort at this level. Everything is done in such a way as to produce a conducive atmosphere of peace and harmony for academic activities to take place.

Every staff is provided with a desktop computer to enhance working environment. Staff are also encouraged and sponsored to attend conferences and seminars, as well as to pursue higher degrees.

The Staff Strength

The academic staff strength has grown from one (1) in 2009 to eight (8) at the moment. One of these staff is a visiting lecturer.


The Department is located in the newly renovated faculty of Science building.