History Of Taraba State University

The idea of establishing a State University for Taraba State was muted in 2004 when Rev. Jolly T. Nyame was State Governor, Feasibility studies were conducted but the proposal was never implemented. It was on 14th June 2007 when Pharm. Danbaba Danfillani Suntai, State Governor, set up a Technical Committee on the Establishment of Taraba State University.

Membership of the Technical Committee on the Establishment of Taraba State University was composed of:

i. Dr. Michael P. Noku – Chairman

University of Maiduguri, Maiduguri

ii. Dr. Abbas Bashir – Member

Federal University of Technology, Yola

iii. Dr. Yakubu Haruna Aiyara – Member

Federal University of Technology, Yola

iv.Dr. Anthony D. Barau – Member

Federal University of Technology, Owerri

v. Dr. Catherine Ashasim – Member

Gombe State University, Gombe

vi. Dr. Bakari Aliyu – Member

College of Agriculture, Jalingo

vii. Mohammed Garba – Member

College of Education, Jalingo

viii. Mrs. Naomi Ibrahim Jauro – Member

Taraba State Ministry of Education

ix. Mr. Helkia Bubajoda Mafindi – Member/Secretary

College of Education, Jalingo

The Technical Committee Report was submitted on 2nd October 2007. The report was accepted by the government and on 24 January 2008,
the Taraba State University was established by Law No. 4 of 2008,
passed by the Taraba State House of Assembly. The Executive
Governor of Taraba State, His Excellency, Pharm. Danbaba
Danfulani Suntai accented to the Law on 28 January 2008.

The Taraba State University commenced academic activities in the
2008/2009 academic session with over 582 students registered at the
school of General and Preliminary Studies. Full-time undergraduate
programs commenced in the 2009/2010 academic session with
over 40 academic staff and 476 students, registered in eighteen

The University has witnessed significant growth since 2008. At the
beginning of the 2011/2012 academic session, the academic staff
strength was over 100 while undergraduate enrolment was about

The pioneer Vice-Chancellor was Dr. Ahmed Usman Jalingo who
served from 2008 to 2010. Dr. Jalingo died in March 2011 and was
replaced by Prof. Michael Noku who served as Acting Vice
Chancellor until January 2012, when Prof. Mohammed Sani Yahaya
took over as the second substantive Vice-Chancellor. Dr. Cathrine
Musa Ashasim took over as Acting Vice-Chancellor in October 2016
to 28th February 2017. The current Vice-Chancellor is Professor
Vincent Ado Tenebe and he took over on 1st March 2017.